Ar Lwybr Dial
(The Pursuit of Vengeance )

Set in the coastal town of Aberystwyth, Alun Davies’s detective novel, the second in his trilogy, is among the finest example of the Welsh-language noir genre. For Taliesin MacLeavy, the wounded and long-suffering detective, a string of unusual murders become an even greater challenge that he must face, and one that will force him to reckon with choices made in the past. Split between three voices, of the two investigating detectives and the murderer himself, Alun Llwyd has created an exciting narrative that does not fall prey to the ready traps and clichés of the genre. With credible characters and a thrilling plot, we inch closer and closer to understanding the murderer’s seemingly capricious approach. 

This is not simply a whodunnit, but a question of why, as notes are left at every crime scene intended for Taliesin himself. We learn of the murderer’s identity from the outset and his deadly exploits punctuate the novel, increasing the tension for the detectives to catch him. As Taliesin pieces together the case and his own connection to it, the novel comes to a staggering crescendo in an epic interplay of vengeance, of crimes passed down the generations, and ultimately, of the cost of justice.


  • 'Alun Davies is an unmistakable writing talent – and the narrative here moves quickly, in an exciting, succinct style, sustaining the tension from start to finish.'

    Arwel Vittle, BARN

  • 'An excellent example of a detective novel that keeps you on the edge of your seat, desperately wanting to reach the end.'

    Catrin Beard, BBC Radio Cymru

Alun Davies


Am yr awdur...

Manylion cyhoeddi:

Ar Lwybr Dial
Y Lolfa (2020)


Hawliau cyfieithu:

Garmon Gruffudd
Y Lolfa
Ceredigion SY24 5AP
Cymru/Wales, UK