Gillian Clarke and Deryn Rees-Jones shortlisted for the 2012 T. S. Eliot prize

The Poetry Book Society is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2012 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry.

Judges Carol Ann Duffy (Chair), Michael Longley and David Morley have chosen six collections from the 131 books submitted by publishers, which join the four PBS Choices to make up the ten collections on the shortlist:

Simon Armitage The Death of King Arthur (Faber)
Sean Borodale Bee Journal (Jonathan Cape)
Gillian Clarke Ice (Carcanet)
Julia Copus The World’s Two Smallest Humans (Faber)
Paul Farley The Dark Film (Picador)
Jorie Graham P L A C E (Carcanet)
Kathleen Jamie The Overhaul (Picador)
Sharon Olds Stag’s Leap (Jonathan Cape)
Jacob Polley The Havocs (Picador)
Deryn Rees-Jones Burying the Wren (Seren)

The winner of the 2012 Prize will be announced at the Award Ceremony on Monday 14 January 2013, when the winner will be presented with a cheque for £15,000, donated by Mrs Valerie Eliot, who has generously given the prize money since the inception of the Prize. The shortlisted poets will each receive £1,000.

Latest News