Wales Book of the Year 2018 Shortlist Announced

Wales Book of the Year 2018 Shortlist Announced

The Wales Book of the Year 2018 shortlist has been announced by Literature Wales.

The 2018 Wales Book of the Year Awards are presented to the best literary works published in 2017, in Welsh and in English, in three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction, and administrated by Literature Wales.

Three of the titles selected to the Wales Literature Exchange 2017 - 2018 Bookcase have been shortlisted for the 2018 Awards. They include, Fabula by Llŷr Gwyn Lewis in the Welsh language fiction category, The Mabinogi by Matthew Francis, shortlisted for the Roland Mathias Poetry Award, and Bad Ideas \ Chemicals by Lloyd Markham, shortlisted in the English language fiction category.

The Welsh-language judging panel for Wales Book of the Year 2018 is veteran broadcaster Beti George; winner of the Chair at the 2016 National Eisteddfod, Aneirin Karadog; and two-time Wales Book of the Year winner Caryl Lewis, while the English prize is judged by award-winning author Cynan Jones; journalist, broadcaster and author, Carolyn Hitt; and distinguished poet and editor, Kathryn Gray.

Each category winner will receive a prize of £1,000, with the main winners in both languages receiving an additional £3,000. A People’s Choice Award will also be presented in both languages, in association with Wales Arts Review and Golwg 360.

Winners of the 2018 Book of the Year Award will be announced in an awards ceremony at the Tramshed, Cardiff, on 26 June 2018.

Further information regarding the 2018 Book of the Year Award can be found here.

Wales Book of the Year 2018 Shortlist

The Roland Mathias Poetry Award

  • All Fours, Nia Davies (Bloodaxe Books);
The Mabinogi, Matthew Francis (Faber & Faber);
Diary of the Last Man, Robert Minhinnick (Carcanet Press)


Fiction Award

  • Hummingbird, Tristan Hughes (Parthian);
Light Switches Are My Kryptonite, Crystal Jeans (Honno);
Bad Ideas / Chemicals, Lloyd Markham (Parthian).

The Creative Non-Fiction Award

  • Icebreaker, Horatio Clare (Chatto & Windus);
  • David Jones: Engraver, Soldier, Painter, Poet, Thomas Dilworth (Jonathan Cape);
  • All that is Wales: The Collected Essays of M. Wynn Thomas, M. Wynn Thomas (University of Wales Press)

Welsh-language Poetry Award

  • Llif Coch Awst, Hywel Griffiths (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas);
  • Treiglo, Gwyneth Lewis (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas);
  • Caeth a Rhydd, Peredur Lynch (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Welsh-language Fiction Award

  • Gwales, Catrin Dafydd (Y Lolfa);
Fabula, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Y Lolfa);
  • Hen Bethau Anghofiedig, Mihangel Morgan (Y Lolfa)

Welsh-language Creative Non-Fiction Award

  • Meddyginiaethau Gwerin Cymru, Anne Elizabeth Williams (Y Lolfa);
Blodau Cymru: Byd y Planhigion, Goronwy Wynne (Y Lolfa);
Ar Drywydd Niclas y Glais, Hefin Wyn (Y Lolfa).

Latest News